Mya Nan San Kyaw, the last Palace built by Burmese Royals
In 1857, King Mindon Min founded Mandalay and also constructed Mya Nan San Kyaw, the Royal Golden Palace. The old Royal Palace, built in the former capital Amarapura was dismantled and rebuilt there. The Palace was completely made from the teak wood. Within a large complex, dozens of buildings were encompassing, including audience halls, throne halls, a court building, a monastery, a watch tower, a tooth relic building, and a library where the Buddhist scriptures were kept.
It had been a garrison for the British’s army as well since the king and queen were put on a bullock cart and taken to India. Many of the royal treasures were looted and taken to London, which are still on display at the Victoria and Albert Museum. Also, the Japanese military camp had been installed and used as a supply depot for their expansions in the region during World War II. And, the allies bombed the compound until nothing was left of the ancient palace buildings. The palace center’s area had been rebuilt in 1990. Nowadays, the Myanmar military occupies the Imperial Palace as well as keeps it completely under control.
Enthralling Buildings of the Royal Palace
The Shwenandaw Monastery, the watch tower, and royal mint were undamaged buildings. The Shwenandaw Monastery was built completely of teak and decorated with detailed and ornate carvings. The watch tower, a very solid reddish brown cylindrical tower, is 24 meters high and topped by a golden seven tiered Pyatthat roof. Climbing the stairway winding around the tower, a charm overview of the Palace and great views of Mandalay can be explored.
Close to the main entrance, there is the Burmese style tooth relic tower, the all-white square structure with a small square relic chamber on top and a steep stairway leading to it. Another impressive structure is the Supreme Court building covered by a multi-tiered roof where the King used to dispense justice. The whole building is a dark reddish brown color and its finials and roof lines are intricately decorated in gold colors.
The Great Audience Hall with a seven tiered Pyatthat roof is also a sign to remember Burmese’s legendary. A few old canons are in front and wooden bargeboards and eaves carved in flower patterns are shown the great architecture of this era. Lion Throne Room, with a seven tiered Pyatthat roof, richly decorated and gold plated, was the most importance of the Palace. And the Glass Palace is King Mindon’s personal living quarters. The quarter was built solidly and extremely sophisticated with 4 huge walls around the compound of Palace.
A Glimpse to the Past: The History of Mandalay Royal Palace
The year was 1885, the last Burmese king, King Thibaw Min, was standing strong in the Royal Mandalay Palace. Nowadays, it is the most popular attraction to visit in the centre of the Mandalay City. With a witness of the charm of the fabulous architecture, you can explore an interesting experience in the Golden Land of Myanmar by its history.